No More Drama

There have been times in the past when someone has asked me if I have any guilty pleasures. Well, aside from chocolate being the most obvious one, there has been another that I have always hated admitting to… (Oh, all right, I’ll just come out and say it), I was once an avid fan of the television/reality show “The Bachelor/Bachelorette.”

Uugh! I know! You’re hugely disappointed in me right now. Every time my husband would find me curled up on the couch with my eyes glued to the set, watching those final rose ceremonies, he would end up shaking his head at me and rolling his eyes.

Unfortunately, I think the main reason I tuned in was because of the drama. Another thing I hate admitting to, but I can be sucked into drama quite easily. I think that’s a common thing for girls. I can remember from a very early age finding myself in conversations with other girls that went something like this… “Can you believe who (so and so) is going to the prom with?!”, “Did you see her new hairdo?!” or “What was she thinking wearing that outfit?!”

Drama can be enticing. It can also make us feel somewhat superior, I think. If we are focusing our attention on what others are doing, then why bother spending time focusing our attention on ourselves? Hmm… Now, there’s a good question.

During my Bible Study time this week, I continued reading in Leviticus, Chapters 8 through 10, and also in Hebrews Chapters 4 and 5.

The Chapters in Leviticus speak about how the Priests were anointed, “making them holy,” in order to serve God. Also, they cover the importance of obedience to God through worshipping Him. What struck me most out of these Chapters was in Leviticus 10, where Aaron’s sons (Nadab and Abihu) were killed as a result of not obeying God’s instruction on worship. The Lord had just laid out His specific instructions to them on carrying out their priestly responsibilities for burnt offerings, but neither one obeyed God’s instruction. As a result, “fire blazed forth from the Lord’s presence and burned them up” (Leviticus 10:2 NIV). Some may ask why they had to die? It is a reminder of the seriousness of sin and the very serious consequences it carries. Sin carries consequences. When we choose to sin, we choose to put ourselves before God and God never chooses to look the other way. In this case, sin cost Nadab and Abihu their lives – the most fatal consequence.

In Hebrews Chapters 4 and 5, we learn of the promised rest for God’s people and of Jesus being established as our High Priest. Here, “rest” refers to peace with God now and enjoying eternal life with God later. In Hebrews Chapter 5, the author was frustrated that Christians were too immature in their faith – not fully embracing God’s instructions on living an authentic, Christian life (see Hebrews 5:11-14). This chapter also talks about how Jesus is our High Priest. It explains how Jesus “understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do, yet he did not sin” (Hebrews 5:15 NIV).

Moral of the story here is we do not worship God or value his instruction when we choose to sin or disobey. Each time we choose to sin we draw farther away from God and His holy plans for us.

So what does watching “The Bachelorette” have to do with this? Well, the entire premise of the show, dating multiple individuals at one time in an effort to find “true love” (and I use the term loosely in this context), completely holds no moral value and certainly does not speak to how God intends for us to seek love.

Love is through God and Jesus, His son. Jesus paid the ultimate price for our sin, which is why it is so important that we be honest in asking ourselves whether our choices honor God’s desires or own selfish ones.

I’m happy to say that I no longer watch “The Bachelor/Bachelorette.” It no longer has proved to be fruitful in my life or serve any good purpose. Now, I open my Bible more and focus on what God wants me to learn about myself and the way I can live to honor Him. Making that one change has already made such a difference in my life and in how I feel about myself.

Father God, thank you for opening up my eyes to the times in my life when I focus on the drama in life instead of focusing on your truth. Please help me to avoid instances in the future where I may find myself listening to false messages instead of your messages of truth. I am so grateful to you for giving me Jesus as an example for me in my life. I thank you for your most precious gift. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “No More Drama

Leave a Reply

