God’s Got This

“The Lord is righteous in everything he does; he is filled with kindness. The Lord is close to all who call on him, yes, to all who call on him in truth” Psalm 145:17-18 (NLT).

I sat at the red light, on my way to start another day at the office. But, this morning left me feeling anxious. Just a few minutes prior, I kissed and hugged my son goodbye, wishing him a good first day at school. Daddy smiled and assured he would take pictures at the front of the school and send them to me.

Thoughts swirled around in my head, as I pulled out of the driveway… “Who will he sit by in class?”; “Will he get overwhelmed by his new surroundings?”; “Will someone say something to him and hurt his feelings?”; “Will the teacher notice if he is having an issue today?”

As I approached the red light, a faint whisper creeped from somewhere deep down within… “Jeanine, why are you worried?”; “Why aren’t you talking to me about it?”; “Don’t you trust me to handle it?”

In the Book of Romans, Chapters 1 through 5, Paul teaches us how God reveals Himself through the gift of His son, Jesus Christ to all who believe. It is a lesson in righteousness given to us through faith in the penalty that Christ paid for our sins on the cross. “No one is righteous – not even one” Romans 3:10 (NLT). But, as we see in Romans 3:21-26, God justifies us through the blood of His Son and declares us not guilty of sin. “We are made right with God by placing our faith in Jesus Christ. And this is true for everyone who believes, no matter who we are” Romans 3:22 (NLT).

It is by faith in Him that we are saved. “But people are counted as righteous, not because of their work, but because of their faith in God who forgives sinners” Romans 4:5 (NLT). We still need to remember, as Christians, that it is not by our good works that we are saved – it is through Jesus Christ alone. We may feel that the more good things we do will earn us salvation, but that is not the case. It is through Jesus alone and only through faith in Him that we are given the gift of salvation.

How many times do I get in my own head and fixate on a problem, trying to figure it out all by myself? Unfortunately, it’s more than I can count on my two hands. I’m a classic over-thinker. Give me a problem that is bigger than me and watch me dissect it every which way to come up with the best solution to solve it. But, the thing is not all problems are solvable. Wouldn’t it be great if they were? So, what do I do then?

Oh, right. God you are here. I need to call upon Him ~ the only one who knows the solution and ask His Spirit to guide me in His path and trust in His way.

Immediately, I began praying out loud in my car at that red light. “God, please watch over Evan today. Help him when he is feeling anxious. May he feel included and important. Help his teacher to see when he is struggling and work through her in those moments. Please let us, as his parents, know when to step in and when to take a step back. In Your Son, Jesus’ Name. Amen.”

Immediately, the light turned green and I hit the gas and felt a huge weight lifted from me. It was Evan’s first day of school and it was going to be okay.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for the tremendous teaching Paul gives to us through Your Word on the power of faithfulness in You. As Your Word says, it is because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing Your glory. We are undeserving and so thankful of your mercy and love for all of us through Your gift. Help me to always remember to not worry and be anxious about anything and always look to the cross. I ask this in Your Son’s Most Precious Name, Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “God’s Got This

Leave a Reply

