It’s A Comfortable Life

“But when you had eaten and were satisfied, you became proud and forgot me” Hosea 13:6 (NLT).

Have you ever wanted something so badly that you thought to yourself, “Once I get blank [enter desired wish here], then I’ll be content?” And then, have you noticed, once you get that certain something that you’ve desired, suddenly it’s not completely satisfying you the way you thought it would?

Case in point – currently, we’ve begun to do some changes to our home. We’ve lived in the same home for the past eleven years. Everything in it is pretty much what we’ve had, since we moved in. A few years ago, we painted the exterior. Now, we are focusing more on the interior. We decided to focus on a room at a time and slowly go from there. Since, we do a lot of entertaining around the holidays we decided to make updates to our living room and dining room.

Painting and making decisions on décor sounded not too overwhelming in the beginning. However, due to the size of both rooms, we found ourselves pretty restricted with what size furniture we could fit comfortably in them. I had no idea it would take 2 months, spending a good part of our weekends shopping at furniture stores to find the right size couch, side chairs and dining room tables to work in the rooms. Also, there was deciding on paint colors, and also blinds for our big picture window in the living room. We started the process over the summer and everything is now almost complete – other than waiting on the new couch to be delivered.

During the process, I remember little “disagreements” (as we like to call them while our eight year old happens to be in ear shot) between my husband and myself occurring over paint colors, furniture styles, size requirements – P.S. I highly recommend painters tape and a tape ruler when you’re deciding on whether or not a piece of furniture will fit adequately in your space. Not to mention, the stress of making decisions on what fits in the budget and what does not. It definitely tests your strength in a marriage.

What I thought in the beginning was going to be a fun and satisfying process, turned out to cause me more stress, headache and anxiety over making the right decisions.

In Deuteronomy Chapters 6 though 10, God calls His people to remember the mistakes of their ancestors. It is a plea, if you will, from Moses urging the new generation to remember God’s faithfulness in the past and to not take it for granted. Moses warns the new generation, “Beware that in your plenty you do not forget the Lord your God and disobey his commands, regulations, and decrees that I am giving you today” Deuteronomy 8:11b (NLT).

The people of Israel complained to God about not having enough food to eat and water to drink during their journey in the wilderness to the Promised Land (see Numbers Chapter 21:4-5), even though God had provided both water and manna (a supply of food provided by God during that time) to them. God provided what they needed, yet the people complained that it just wasn’t enough.

How often does God provide for me in my own life and I don’t even recognize it? Sometimes, like when I’m redecorating my home, I get so wrapped up in the details and in trying to make everything come together just so, that I miss out on enjoying the fact that I am able to do it in the first place. How often do I stop and thank God for His provision in it?

So often God provides for us and so often we miss it, because we are too wrapped up in our own agenda to stop and praise him for His blessings. Sadly, we leave God out of it all together. Even when I’m not deserving of it, He still provides.

These chapters are a reminder to all of us to not forget God. Moses urges the new generation throughout these chapters of that most important fact. Even in the smaller things, like redecorating a home, God has His hand in it. If it were not for the many blessings that He has provided to me and my family, we would not be able to afford such luxuries.

I have to say, even though we are still waiting on our couch to be delivered, having my family sitting around our dining room table at Thanksgiving made me feel so grateful. At the end of the evening, it really wasn’t the furniture we all sat on that brought us contentment, it was the love surrounding us and the joy it brings that mattered most.

Dear Heavenly Father, You are such a provider for me in my life, even when I don’t deserve it. Thank You for the gift of having a home and the ability to make renovations in order to improve it. We are so fortunate to live where we live and own what we own. I ask Your Spirit to do a work in me and make me less prideful over the gifts that I possess through You. Help me to always acknowledge you first and to not take for granted the “plenty” in my life. Bless those in the world who are without and let the light of Your love shine brightly in their hearts this holiday season. I ask this in Your Son Jesus’ Most Precious Name, Amen.

One thought on “It’s A Comfortable Life

Leave a Reply

