Patience in the Waiting

“Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord” Psalm 27:14 (NLT).

These past few months have brought many changes in my life. As much as I acknowledge that change is good and necessary, I still do not tend to like it when I am going through change. Change requires that my routine be adjusted. Change requires my flexibility and my perseverance. It also requires patience in the midst of waiting.

Recently, I made the necessary decision to leave a job that I had worked at for only a few short months. The job was for an administrative support position at a finance company. Though I knew I had the skills required to do the job, I also knew that I lacked some of the experience, since I have no background in finance. However, they were willing to teach me, as long as I was up for the challenge. So, I decided to give it a try.

After a few short weeks of working there, I did not seem to be progressing at a rate that they felt I should be progressing at. There was frustration on both sides and I began to realize that this job was not serving their needs or my own. After much thought and prayer over it, I knew it was best that I move on to something else.

The day after I left that job, I went on my computer and decided to see if any job opportunities were available at an organization that I had wanted to work with for quite some time. Lo and behold, I stumbled across a job opening that was exactly the kind of work I had been looking to do there! Immediately, I forwarded my resume and cover letter. I waited for a little over a week with no phone call. I made the decision to call them to see if they had received my resume and if the position was still available. I was fortunate enough to be told it was, and equally as fortunate to get a phone interview. Within just a few short hours, I got a call back to come in for a face-to-face interview for later that week.

It has been a few days since the interview. I felt it went well and that I could definitely see myself working there. I was told that they would not be making any decisions for another week – maybe longer. So, here I am now – in the waiting.

Someone else who knew a lot about waiting was Mary, Jesus’ Mother. In Luke, Chapter 1, the angel Gabriel appears before Mary telling her, “Don’t be afraid…for you have found favor with God! You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you will name him Jesus” Luke 1:30 (NIV). Understandably, Mary responds, “But, how can this happen? I am a virgin” Luke 1:34 (NIV). The angel responds, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the baby will be born holy, and he will be called the Son of God” Luke 1:35a (NIV).

It is Mary’s response to the angel that is worth reflecting on. She says, “I am the Lord’s servant. May everything you have said about me come true” Luke 1:38 (NIV). This response is such an example of the complete faith and trust Mary had in God’s plans for her. She shows her confidence in God by willingly submitting to Him and faithfully following in His plans. In just a few short verses later, we see Mary sing a song of praise to God for the blessing of giving birth to the Son who would become Savior of the world!

Talk about a season of waiting! Mary waited to deliver the Son of God into the world. In order to do this, she needed faith, trust and patience. She was humble and obedient. She did not question God’s motives or His abilities; she simply followed and praised Him for the opportunity to serve Him.

Right now, it seems there is nothing I want more than this job. I have prayed and asked God to bless me with this opportunity and I have asked others to pray, as well. But, I do not know who else is being considered for the position. There might be someone with more experience or someone who has waited longer than me for the same opportunity. Either way, it is not in my hands. Therefore, I choose to put my confidence in God that no matter what the outcome is – it is His plan.

In the meantime, while I wait for an answer, I will press into His Word and remind myself of His perfect plans for me. As His Word says, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding” Proverbs 3:5 (NIV). If the answer is no, I can trust that God has better plans for me. “Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think” Ephesians 3:20 (NLT). Reflecting on these truths is what gets me through the waiting. As long as I remember who God is and who I am in Him, it will all work out as it should.

Heavenly Father, Help me to remember that when I am in a season of waiting, I need only rest in the confidence and assurance of Your perfect plans for me. When I feel rejected, may I not let that rejection define me and may I place my identity in You and You alone. Thank You for the example that Mary shows, to us all, of the power in faithfulness and humility when following Your holy plans. May I always keep Mary in my heart when I am called to make the necessary adjustments in my life to accommodate the changes you have in store for me. I pray in Jesus’ Name, Amen.

One thought on “Patience in the Waiting

  1. AMEN!! What a blessing you are to share the Godly truth and such encouragement to us all.
    Praying for your continued peace in the matter. God Bless You, Love,
    Aunt Kathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

